Finalist, The Robert Kroetsch City of Edmonton Book Prize, 2020

Finalist, The Fiddlehead Short Fiction Contest, 2019

Winner, Poetry Moves on Transit Contest, Edmonton Poetry Festival and Edmonton Transit Service, 2017

Longlist, Frank O’Connor International Short Story Award (The Glorious Mysteries) 2014

Finalist, Howard O’Hagan Award for Short Fiction, 2014 (“Snow,” The Glorious Mysteries)

First Prize, Room Magazine Short Fiction Award, 2009 (“The Glorious Mysteries,” The Glorious Mysteries)

Runner-Up, Alberta Views Short Fiction Contest, 2008 (“The Water Witcher,” The Glorious Mysteries)

Finalist, Jon Whyte Memorial Essay Prize, 2008

Third Place, “This Place” Poetry Contest, Legacy Magazine, Spring 2007

Second Place, Prairie Fiction Contest, FreeFall Magazine, Spring 2006

Finalist, Grant MacEwan Authors Award, 2004 (Teaching Places)

Finalist, Wilfred Eggleston Award for Non-Fiction, 2004 (Teaching Places)

Finalist, ForeWord Magazine’s 2004 Book of the Year Award in the Body/Mind/Spirit category (Teaching Places)

Honourable Mention, Writing Towards the Light Poetry Contest, 2004

Highly Commended, Poetry on the Lake. Silver Wyvern Anthology 2002.

Honourable Mention, Going Home Travel Contest, The Edmonton Journal, 1995